Personal tools


The H. L. Welsh Distinguished Lecturer Series Program for 2013

The speakers for 2013 are:


Dr.  Jean-Loup Puget, Institut d'Astrophysique Spatiale, Université Paris Sud

Jean-Loup Puget completed his undergraduate studies at the Ecole Normale Supérieure de Cachan and a master's and Diplome d'études at Orsay University in 1969. He had fellowships at CERN and the NASA Goddard Space Flight Center before taking a tenured position at the CNRS in France. He has been director of several institutions, most recently the Institute d'Astrophysique Spatiale in Orsay, France. He is a distinguished astrophysicist, having made important theoretical and observational contributions to our understanding of extra-galactic gamma rays, large-scale structure of the universe and its early history. He has served or provided leadership to the scientific community, including chairing the Space Research Committee of the Académie de Sciences.  His work has been recognized by numerous awards, including appointment as member to the Academia Europea in 1992 and to the Académie de Sciences of the Institut de France in 2002.

Dr.  Robert Austin, Department of Physics, Princeton University

Robert H. Austin received his B.A. in Physics from Hope College in Holland MI and his Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Illinois Champaign-Urbana in 1976. He did post-doctoral work at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry from 1976 to 1979 and has been at Princeton University in the Department from Physics from 1979 to the present, achieving the rank of Professor of Physics in 1989. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and was elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences USA. He has served as a President of the Division of Biological Physics of the American Physical Society, and is the present Chair of the U.S. Liaison Committee of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics. He has served as the biological physics editor for Physical Review Letters, serves on numerous review panels for National Institutes of Health, National Science Foundation, the Burroughs Wellcome Fund and the National Institute of Standards and Technology, and is the editor of the Virtual Journal of Biological Physics. He won the 2005 Edgar Lilienfeld Prize of the American Physical Society.