Skip to Content

Quantum Optics QO

quantum optics and atomic, molecular, and optical physics

Members

Tenure-Stream Faculty

Boris Braverman
Tenure-Stream Faculty
Department of Physics
Boris Braverman picture
boris.braverman@utoronto.ca
416-978-4395, 416-978-2948
MP037, MP1108A
Daniel F.V. James
Tenure-Stream Faculty
Department of Physics
Daniel F.V. James picture
dfvj@physics.utoronto.ca
416-946-3736
MP1014
Sajeev John
Tenure-Stream Faculty
Department of Physics
Sajeev John picture
john@physics.utoronto.ca
416-978-3459
MP1002
Hoi-Kwong Lo
Tenure-Stream Faculty
Department of Physics
Hoi-Kwong Lo picture
hklo@comm.utoronto.ca
BA7108
Robin S. Marjoribanks
Tenure-Stream Faculty
Department of Physics
Robin S. Marjoribanks picture
marj@physics.utoronto.ca
416-978-6769
MP1104C
R.J. Dwayne Miller
Tenure-Stream Faculty
Department of Physics
R.J. Dwayne Miller picture
dmiller@lphys.chem.utoronto.ca
416-978-0353, 416-978-1528
LM245A
John E. Sipe
Tenure-Stream Faculty
Department of Physics
John E. Sipe picture
sipe@physics.utoronto.ca
416-978-4517
MP1013
Aephraim M. Steinberg
Tenure-Stream Faculty
Department of Physics
Aephraim M. Steinberg picture
steinberg@physics.utoronto.ca
416-946-3162
MP1103
Joseph Thywissen
Tenure-Stream Faculty
Associate Chair, Graduate Studies
Department of Physics
Joseph Thywissen picture
gchair@physics.utoronto.ca
joseph.thywissen@utoronto.ca
416-978-2941
MP1109A, MP314
Amar Vutha
Tenure-Stream Faculty
Department of Physics
Amar Vutha picture
amar.vutha@utoronto.ca
416-946-8503
MP1121

Adjunct/Status-Only

Stephan Malbrunot-Ettenauer
Adjunct/Status-Only
CERN
Stephan Malbrunot-Ettenauer picture
stephan.ettenauer@cern.ch

Cross Appointed

Dvira Segal
Cross Appointed
Department of Chemistry
Dvira Segal picture
dvira.segal@utoronto.ca
416-946-0559
Nathan Wiebe
Cross Appointed
Department of Computer Science
Nathan Wiebe picture
nawiebe@cs.toronto.edu

Emeritus Professor

A. David May
Emeritus Professor
Department of Physics
A. David May picture
Henry M. Van Driel
Emeritus Professor
Department of Physics
Henry M. Van Driel picture
vandriel@physics.utoronto.ca
416-978-8189
MP902

Visiting Scholar

Tahir Shaaran
Visiting Scholar
Department of Physics
Tahir Shaaran picture
tahir.shaaran@utoronto.ca
416-978-3785
MP915B

Post Doctoral Fellow

Mingyu Fan
Post Doctoral Fellow
Department of Physics
Mingyu Fan picture
mingyu.fan@utoronto.ca
416-978-4200
MP1104B
Cora Fujiwara
Post Doctoral Fellow
Department of Physics
Cora Fujiwara picture
cora.fujiwara@utoronto.ca
416-946-0140, 416-978-4200, 416-978-0137
MP1104B
Shira Jackson
Post Doctoral Fellow
Department of Physics
Shira Jackson picture
shira.jackson@mail.utoronto.ca
416-978-0354
Scott Smale
Post Doctoral Fellow
Department of Physics
Scott Smale picture
scott.smale@mail.utoronto.ca
416-946-5604
MP1108
Colin Vendromin
Post Doctoral Fellow
Department of Physics
Colin Vendromin picture
colin.vendromin@utoronto.ca
416-978-2978

Graduate Student

Daniela Angulo Murcillo
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Daniela Angulo Murcillo picture
murcillo@physics.utoronto.ca
416-946-3162, 416-978-2971
MP904A
Nicholas Anto-Sztrikacs
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Nicholas Anto-Sztrikacs picture
nasztrikacs@physics.utoronto.ca
416-978-7302
MP903
Keira Pond Augusto
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Keira Pond Augusto picture
kiera.augusto@mail.utoronto.ca
416-978-4400, 416-946-0140
MP024
Milica Banic
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Milica Banic picture
mbanic@physics.utoronto.ca
Zhuoran Bao
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Zhuoran Bao picture
zhuoran.bao@mail.utoronto.ca
416-978-7009
MP1104A
Gidon Bookatz
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Gidon Bookatz picture
gbookatz@physics.utoronto.ca
416-978-7009
MP1104A
Juan Felipe Castaneda
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Juan Felipe Castaneda picture
juan.castaneda@mail.utoronto.ca
Ahmet Burak Catli
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Ahmet Burak Catli picture
burak.catli@mail.utoronto.ca
Frank Corapi
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Frank Corapi picture
fcorapi@physics.utoronto.ca
416-946-0140, 416-978-2943
MP099
Kristen Cote
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Kristen Cote picture
kcote@physics.utoronto.ca
416-978-4395, 416-978-3155
MP502
Colin Dale
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Colin Dale picture
dcolin@physics.utoronto.ca
416-946-0140, 416-978-2943
MP099
Pria Dobney
Graduate Student
PGSA VP External
Department of Physics
Pria Dobney picture
pria.dobney@mail.utoronto.ca
416-946-3162, 416-978-1507
MP093
Christian Drago
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Christian Drago picture
christian.drago@mail.utoronto.ca
416-978-4364
MP1012
Daniel Dribin
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Daniel Dribin picture
daniel.dribin@mail.utoronto.ca
416-978-0584
Benjamin Driesen
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Benjamin Driesen picture
benjamin.driesen@mail.utoronto.ca
416-946-3936, 416-946-7538
MP096
Gabe Dublin
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Gabe Dublin picture
gabe.dublin@mail.utoronto.ca
416-978-7009
Alistair Duff
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Alistair Duff picture
a.duff@utoronto.ca
416-978-4364
MP1012
Samuel Fontaine
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Samuel Fontaine picture
samuel.fontaine@mail.utoronto.ca
416-978-4364
MP1012
Matthew Gerry
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Matthew Gerry picture
matthew.gerry@mail.utoronto.ca
Sobhan Ghanbari
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Sobhan Ghanbari picture
sobhan.ghanbari@mail.utoronto.ca
416-978-4282
MP1201A
Pascal Hogan-Lamarre
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Pascal Hogan-Lamarre picture
pascal.hogan.lamarre@mail.utoronto.ca
LM242
Jiayang Jiang
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Jiayang Jiang picture
jiayang.jiang@mail.utoronto.ca
416-978-0584
Andy Jiao
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Andy Jiao picture
xinyu.jiao@mail.utoronto.ca
416-946-3162, 416-946-3936, 416-946-7538
MP096
Jason Kattan
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Jason Kattan picture
jkattan@physics.utoronto.ca
416-978-4364
MP1012
Frederik Koch
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Frederik Koch picture
frederik.koch@mail.utoronto.ca
416-978-7009
MP1104A
Robyn Learn
Graduate Student
PGSA President
Department of Physics
Robyn Learn picture
robyn.learn@mail.utoronto.ca
416-946-0140, 416-978-2943
MP099
Ho Kiat Lim
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Ho Kiat Lim picture
hokiat.lim@mail.utoronto.ca
MP915
Noah Lupu-Gladstein
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Noah Lupu-Gladstein picture
nlupugla@physics.utoronto.ca
416-946-3162
Khaled Madhoun
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Khaled Madhoun picture
khaled.madhoun@mail.utoronto.ca
416-978-5215
MP1102
Reem Mandil
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Reem Mandil picture
rmandil@physics.utoronto.ca
GB403
Nicholas Mantella
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Nicholas Mantella picture
nmantella@physics.utoronto.ca
416-946-3936, 416-946-3162
MP045
Joseph McGowan
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Joseph McGowan picture
jmcgowan@physics.utoronto.ca
416-946-3936, 416-946-3162
MP045
Harshil Neeraj
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Harshil Neeraj picture
harshil.neeraj@mail.utoronto.ca
416-946-3936, 416-946-3162
MP045
Bassam Nima
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Bassam Nima picture
bassam.nima@mail.utoronto.ca
416-978-3155
MP502
Vida-Michelle Nixon
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Vida-Michelle Nixon picture
vidam.nixon@mail.utoronto.ca
416-946-3162, 416-946-3936, 416-946-7538
MP096
Arthur Pang
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Arthur Pang picture
opang@physics.utoronto.ca
416-978-4282
MP1202A
Matthew Pocrnic
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Matthew Pocrnic picture
matthew.pocrnic@mail.utoronto.ca
416-978-2267
MP509
Griffin Schwartz
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Griffin Schwartz picture
griffin.schwartz@utoronto.ca
416-978-5444
MP1023C
Serene Shum
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Serene Shum picture
serene.shum@mail.utoronto.ca
416-978-4742
MP904
Michael Sloan
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Michael Sloan picture
michael.sloan@mail.utoronto.ca
416-978-4364
MP1012
Timothy Sorochkin
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Timothy Sorochkin picture
timothy.sorochkin@mail.utoronto.ca
Jingsen Tang
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Jingsen Tang picture
jingsen.tang@mail.utoronto.ca
416-978-4400, 416-978-2947
MP021
Rui Jie (Jerry) Tang
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Rui Jie (Jerry) Tang picture
Ruijie.tang@mail.utoronto.ca
416-946-3936, 416-946-3162
MP045
Kyle Thompson
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Kyle Thompson picture
kthompson@physics.utoronto.ca
416-946-3162, 416-946-3936, 416-946-7538
MP096
Takahiro Tow
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Takahiro Tow picture
takahiro.tow@mail.utoronto.ca
416-978-4395, 416-978-3155
MP502
Daniel-Anthony Travo
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Daniel-Anthony Travo picture
dtravo@physics.utoronto.ca
Yann Valibouse
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Yann Valibouse picture
yann.valibouse@mail.utoronto.ca
416-946-3162
MP054
Alice Viola
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Alice Viola picture
alice.viola01@universitadipavia.it
416-978-5444
Kevin Gin Sing Xie
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Kevin Gin Sing Xie picture
kgs.xie@utoronto.ca
416-946-0140, 416-978-2943
MP099
Yildirim Batuhan Yilmaz
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
Yildirim Batuhan Yilmaz picture
ybylmaz@physics.utoronto.ca
416-946-3162, 416-946-3936, 416-946-7538
MP096
Joscelyn van der Veen
Graduate Student
PGSA Treasurer
Department of Physics
Joscelyn van der Veen picture
joscelyn.vanderveen@utoronto.ca
416-978-7009
MP1104A

Undergraduate Student

Parveer Banwait
Undergraduate Student
Department of Physics
Parveer Banwait picture
parveer.banwait@mail.utoronto.ca
416-978-3155
MP502
Ben Dobozy
Undergraduate Student
Department of Physics
Ben Dobozy picture
ben.dobozy@mail.utoronto.ca
MP033
Alison Okumura
Undergraduate Student
Department of Physics
Alison Okumura picture
a.okumura@mail.utoronto.ca
MP033
Alek Radak
Undergraduate Student
Department of Physics
Alek Radak picture
alek.radak@mail.utoronto.ca
MP033
Daniel Stedman
Undergraduate Student
Department of Physics
Daniel Stedman picture
stedmand@telus.net
416-978-4395
Maggie Wang
Undergraduate Student
Department of Physics
Maggie Wang picture
maggiefen.wang@mail.utoronto.ca
416-946-3162
MP054
Angela Xiang
Undergraduate Student
Department of Physics
Angela Xiang picture
a.xiang@mail.utoronto.ca
416-978-3155
MP502

Summer Student

Ahmed Abdelmoneim
Summer Student
Department of Physics
Ahmed Abdelmoneim picture
ahmed.abdelmoneim@mail.utoronto.ca
416-946-3162
MP054
Mojtaba (Moji) Khavaninzadeh
Summer Student
Department of Physics
Mojtaba (Moji) Khavaninzadeh picture
mojtaba.khavaninzadeh@mail.utoronto.ca
416-946-3162
MP054
Muhammad Mohid
Summer Student
Department of Physics
Muhammad Mohid picture
mohidmuh.mohid@mail.utoronto.ca
416-946-0140, 416-946-3162
MP023, MP054

Administrative Staff

Joanafel Magnaye
Administrative Staff
Senior Secretary, Experimental & Quantum Optics
Department of Physics
Joanafel Magnaye picture
jmagnaye@physics.utoronto.ca
416-946-7640
MP1109