Skip to Content

Prof. Kaley Walker is among the recipients of the new Dean’s Research Excellence Award

The Faculty of Arts & Science has created a new award to recognize mid-career faculty members whose research achievements have been cited as especially noteworthy.
Prof. Kaley Walker

Winners of the new Dean’s Research Excellence Award award have contributed a wealth of research that has had a significant and sustained influence in their chosen disciplines.

The five recipients of this year’s Dean’s Research Excellence Award — Wil Cunningham, Megan Frederickson, Randall Hansen, Naomi Nagy and Kaley Walker — will receive $10,000 to further their professional development.

“It is with enormous pride that I announce the inaugural winners of the Dean’s Research Excellence Awards,” says Dean Melanie Woodin. “The scholars we honour this year are widely recognized as having made an important and ongoing impact on research in their respective fields. As the very first recipients of these annual awards, they set a shining example for those who will follow them.”

Professor Kaley Walker of the Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Physics Group is studying the composition of the atmosphere through the development and use of ground-based, high-altitude balloon and satellite instrumentation, especially in relation to atmospheric ozone recovery and climate change. She leads research at the Polar Environment Atmospheric Research Laboratory (PEARL) in Eureka, Nunavut; is deputy mission scientist for the Canadian Space Agency’s Atmospheric Chemistry Experiment (ACE) satellite mission, launched in 2003; and is playing a leading role in the development of the next generation of Earth observation satellites for Canada.

Read the full article at: