Skip to Content

2018 Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF)

Winners of the 2018 Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships (SURF)

Tutukhanim Balayeva

Student's Name: Tutukhanim Balayeva

Supervisor:  Professor Dylan Jones

Project Title: Characterizing the sources of moisture for precipitation in the Sahel

Student's Name:  Mark Buchanan

Supervisor:  Professor Kaley Walker

Project Title: Developing a lab testing regime for a solar tracker 

Student's Name:  Vanessa Clayton

Supervisor:  Professor John Wei

Project Title: Search for Higher T Superconductivity in Transition Metal Oxides

Student's Name:  Sanjit Dasgupta

Supervisor:  Professor Sid Goyal

Project Title:  Cell fate dynamics at the single cell resolution

Alan He

Student's Name:  Alan He

Supervisor:  Professor Stephen Morris

Project Title:  Investigation of the states of motion of a dragged viscous thread

Emily Knuckey

Student's Name:  Emily Knuckey

Supervisor:  Professor Debra Wunch

Project Title:  Measuring greenhouse gases throughout the GTA using a mobile in situ atmospheric analyser

Ryan Ripsman

Student's Name:  Ryan Ripsman

Supervisor:  Professor Luyi Yang

Project Title: Performing second harmonic generation measurements in SrRuO3 and other quantum materials

Student's Name:  Qing Hao Xu

Supervisor:  Professor Chris Lee

Project Title:  Reviewing the existing research literature on Martian surface and water processes, and summarizing the recent modeling efforts in this field

Undergraduate Program  SURF