Skip to Content
University of Toronto

Physics News

Showing content tagged as "Awards".
2019 William T. Pecora Team Award
Professor Emeritus James R. Drummond is a member of the Terra satellite team which received the 2019 William T. Pecora Team Award in early October. Nov. 4, 2019
2019-2020 Loudon-Hines Gold Medal and Scholarship in Physics
The Loudon-Hines Gold Medal and Scholarship in Physics was established in 2018 through the generosity of two anonymous donors. The 2019-2020 recipient is: Celina Pasiecznik June 25, 2020
The 2017 CAP/DCMMP Brockhouse Medal is awarded to Yong-Baek Kim
The Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) is pleased to announce that the 2017 CAP/DCMMP Brockhouse Medal is awarded to Yong Baek Kim, University of Toronto, for his leading work on the effects of large spin-orbit coupling on exotic ground states in geometrically frustrated and highly correlated quantum materials. May 1, 2017
Luyi Yang named Canada Research Chair in Ultrafast Dynamics of Quantum Materials
Twenty U of T scholars, whose expertise ranges from the neural basis of music recognition to Indigenous methodologies, were named new Canada Research Chairs by the federal government this fall. Nov. 14, 2017
Professor Sajeev John Appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada
Jan. 5, 2018
Amar Vutha - Recipient of the 2018 Sloan Fellowship
The Sloan Research Fellowships seek to stimulate fundamental research by early-career scientists and scholars of outstanding promise. These two-year fellowships are awarded yearly to 126 researchers in recognition of distinguished performance and a unique potential to make substantial contributions to their field. The 2018 Sloan Research Fellows will receive fellowships in the amount of $65,000. Feb. 16, 2018
2016 CAP Particle Physics Division (PPD) Thesis Award Recipient
The 2016 CAP Particle Physics Division (PPD) Thesis Award Recipient is former U of T Physics graduate student Patrick de Perio May 4, 2016
Professor R J Dwayne Miller Awarded the Royal Society of Chemistry Centenary Prize 2016
The Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) awarded Professor Dwayne Miller (Professor of Physics and Chemistry at U of T) the RSC Centenary Prize 2016 for his contributions to the development of femtosecond electron diffraction to realize the first atomic movies of chemical reactions and for his service to making science inspiring to the general public. May 10, 2016
Dr Kenneth Burch awarded the 2012 Lee Osheroff Richardson North American Science Prize.
Feb. 13, 2012
Dick Peltier leads the pack with the Herzberg Gold Medal
Feb. 27, 2012
Kenneth Burch Wins Early Research Award
MRI ERA Awards 2011 Aug. 17, 2011
UofT students take top 3 spots on CAP prize exam!
March 26, 2012
Graduate Student Madeleine Bonsma-Fisher among this year's NSERC award recipients
We go to the gym, count calories and take our vitamins — all in an effort to stay fit and avoid getting sick. But are we actually healthy? Our bodies are filled with bacteria and viruses that attack them, known as phages. Some of these tiny organisms float harmlessly along while others are ticking time bombs that could cause infections, diseases and even obesity. This microscopic community, called the “microbiome,” is unique to each person, and diversity and adaptation among bacteria and phages make it difficult to say for certain what a healthy microbiome looks like. Feb. 7, 2017
Xanadu Award
Announcing the Xanadu Award for an Outstanding Publication by a PhD Student April 7, 2021
Xanadu Award 2022
Milica Banic is the 2022 Xanadu Award Recipient March 28, 2022